“Humans are act…

“Humans are actually very strange. Most of the time we know exactly what we want but one of two things happen:
1) i) We find it (the thing we want), but sometimes (I lie, MOST of the time) its in a different form from how we’d imagined it would be so we ii) somehow manage to convince ourselves that it actually can’t be what we’d wanted in the first place. But then we end up shooting ourselves in the foot because we lose out on the very thing we wanted.
OR
2) [More difficult to articulate] i) We find the thing we want in a state that’s almost identical to the image that we’ve built up in our heads but we ii) create a perpetual war within ourselves where one half is all for graciously accepting this thing that we want but the other half is in disbelief that the thing we want has been found. The evil latter half brainwashes the former half and right there is the conception of non-existent cracks and dents in the thing we want. We look for the smallest flaws in this “perfect” thing that we originally wanted but they accumulate so eventually, we’ve deteriorated it so much that we can now discard it, foolishly accepting that it again couldn’t have been what we’d originally wanted because I mean “Look at it, it’s so flawed! ”
Conclusion: I think what I’m trying to say is that too much time is wasted conceptualizing and seeking what we THINK we want, which makes way for oversight and we miss the things we actually want (and/or need).
*PS: I promise it made sense in my head (/_\) ” By Sinenhlanhla Zulu

This is a post made by a lady friend of mine Sinenhlanhla Zulu on Facebook. I took what i could from it and I felt I should share this with Everyone. It touches on something that has been lingering on my mind lately, Self-sabotage. Now I am more encouraged to do a follow up post to this

2 thoughts on ““Humans are act…

  1. So, true. A very wise lady. We do waste too much time trying to imagine the perfect image of what we want and miss what we have today. You should always make plans to achieve goals and wants, but not to the exclusion of living today.

    Like

Leave a comment